Netidiot.com

9/23/2004

The Latest FREE Offers In The “Mail Bag”

Filed under: Internet Schemes and Scams — site admin @ 11:38 pm

Here are the latest items from our Product Test Panel friends:

Receive a Free Sony DVD Handycam!
Free Canon Digital Rebel Camera - 6.3 Megapixels (hmm, wasn’t this offered on Freeslide first?)
Get A Free IBM Thinkpad!
Get A Free 36 inch Trinitron TV!

From Freeslide (they have a new address: 5 Lake Carolina Way, Suite 260, Columbia, SC 29229):

Get A Free iPod!

From their new business: Subscriber BASE/ E-mail services at the 3830 Forest Drv address:

Get Lucky Lips - Free! (a cosmetic ad)
Free Card Search (credit card search - Pre-Qualified. 100% free. How do they pre-qualify strangers just arriving to their site?)
Free Spyware Scanner (its called eBlocs)
Get Thin Free (a patch along with some eBooks i.e. ‘Make Food Your Friend’)
Get A Free 51 ince Widescreen HDTV!

From their new business SponsorGift.com at 5 Lake Carolina Way, Suite 260, Columbia SC, 29229:

Free Crest Whitestrips (yeah, get your sparkling smile ready for that 6.5 mega pixel camera they’ll send you through the other offers)

Typing all of these in was a bit of a chore this time - I really need to keep up with them! I think their new business at 5 Lake Carolina Way, under the name of Subscriber/BASE Email is going to take off as being the leading ad e-mailer, as each of the company offers presented seemed to have different addresses attached with the Free product offering itself, while the Subscriber / BASE email service posed as the company doing the emailing on behalf of someone else. At least this is how it looked. I should see if Subscriber/BASE Email Service has a website of its own.

Could Freeslide Or Consumer Research Corp / ProductTestPanel.comPanel Be A Scam?

Filed under: Internet Schemes and Scams — site admin @ 9:07 pm

It has been about a week since I have updated this site with the latest and greatest from our friends at 3830 Forest Drive. I’m glad that their conducting their campaign via e-mail - they are saving trees!

Speaking of trees, lets talk about logs - web logs to be exact:

After reviewing my web log for this site, I was looking for search phrases people used to find content here at Netidiot.com. I noticed that I am not the only one who has gone to Yahoo or Google and typed in the search phrase, “IS FREESLIDE A SCAM”, or “CONSUMER RESEARCH CORP SCAM”. Scam seems to be the associative word for these folks, but I am going to wait for a little while longer before I make that declaration of my own, official. If it turns out NOT to be a scam, I could become one of their greatest spokesman / supporters. I’m not sure I could promote them from this website though, as who would listen? The site’s name is “Netidiot.com”. ;- )

I’m not holding my breath for that cool camera I hoped to get. Luckily, I’ve sold most of my DVD’s. The books aren’t moving as well. I may have to wrap them up for Christmas gifts. Whether I sell them or give them as gifts, I figure its a win win, either way. I have lots of family I have to buy stuff for. Who’s going to complain about a gift book? (I hope they aren’t reading this…)

9/15/2004

Beware of E-mail Attachments!!!

Filed under: Internet Bad Practices — site admin @ 9:16 pm

Today, someone in our help desk department had to rebuild a lady’s computer… again!!! We have to rebuild her computer about once every couple years, because she doesn’t understand a thing about viruses. As many times as we try to explain to her to stop opening unexpected attachments, she told us today, “I open everything - I want to see what people are sending me.” She just doesn’t get it. She won’t update her anti-virus subscription and insists on opening every attachment. Insane.

So if there ever was a bad practice, this is one of them. Also, people will argue with me, saying, “Some of these attachments are from people I know.”

I asked, “Did they call you up to tell you they’re going to send it, or write a lengthy email telling you about this surprise file they’re sending you? Do you think its Christmas , everytime you get a file attachment? Maybe they’re sending you a belated Birthday present?”

She didn’t appreciate my sarcasm, but oh well… in a nutshell, I told her these people are not even sending the files, but their virus infected computers are doing it for them, and thus the virus is trying to infect her computer.

Here are the guidelines for file attachments that I give everyone:

1. If you recieve a file unexpectedly from someone you know, or a stranger (either case applies… listen up!), and they haven’t emailed you before to tell you to expect it, or talked to you on the phone, or perhaps they haven’t talked to you in 10 years…. DON’T OPEN IT! Contact this person first - they might appreciate knowing that their computer is sending out strange files….. then again, read point number 2 - another infected computer may have sent the file on their behalf.

2. If someone says they recieved a file from you, but you didn’t send it, and you’re sure your virus protection is on and working well, this is a case where SOMEONE else’s stupid, virus infected computer sent out a file (usually another copy of the virus) on your behalf. The only way to avoid this is to not give out your email address to people who don’t keep their anti-virus programs updated. Just avoid these types of people (haha - kidding). This is technically called email address spoofing.

There’s a story I recall happening late last year (2003), when viruses started spoofing addresses. One of the groups of staffers we support do the administration for a national organization. They handle the membership information, payments, etc., so they are at one time or another in contact with these thousands of people around the world who are in the organization. Someone within the organization got one of these viruses and it started sending out messages to people on behalf of the PRESIDENT of the organization!!! This virus didn’t only send a nice file attachment, but it had a message behind it - Basically, whoever received this email got a nice message with a subject of “YOU ARE STUPID!” and then it went on and on about how the sender thought they were a complete idiot - just what these peope wanted to hear from the organization’s president, eh? A few of them demanded their money back and quit. Crazy…

3. Considering the story of point 2, don’t take an email with a virus attachment you aren’t expecting (as in point 1) too seriously - its a virus! It has no heart! It wants to heartlessly attack you AND your computer, and destroy your professional and personal relationships! Beware! Its a thing of the devil!

If you are someone who DOES open EVERY single attachment, as related in my story above, its possibly only by the grace of God that you are able to read this post and its warnings.

Cheaper Camera’s From Freeslide

Filed under: Internet Schemes and Scams — site admin @ 8:53 pm

A couple days have passed since my last post of offerings. Here’s a few more ads received from the folks at 3830 Forest Drive, Suite 207, Columbia, SC 29204.

From Freeslide:

Have Some Free Digital Camera Fun! (Wow - its a 3.1 MegaPixel camera! An Amazing offer after their 8 Mega pixel offering, eh? I can’t wait to get one of these)

Free offerings from ProductTestPanel.com:

Get a Free Toshiba Flat Screen TV (I noticed they took off the ‘free shipping by FedEx’ logo off this ad… I suppose we’ll have to pay the shipping , eh?)

Get the New Apple Computer (The subject is so non-descript.. not only is it an Apple Computer, its the latest and greatest!!! Its the new iMac G5. I wonder who they pay to do their photography and ads - not bad… at least someone’s making money from these people).

I still wonder how many of these supposedly “free” items ever get shipped. I’ve seen very few people in the forums actually say, “I got my iPod today”, but there was at least one. How long can a place like this exist? They’ve sent out probably MILLIONS of emails to people advertising these items they’re giving away - wouldn’t they eventually email the wrong person with the FBI?

I have a cousin who lives near their location - I’m tempted to ask her to drive by that address and take a peak.

Until next time…

9/12/2004

More Free Stuff - The Stuff Of Dreams

Filed under: Internet Schemes and Scams — site admin @ 9:33 am

Today, I’ve noticed a few more offers from the folks at 3830 Forest Drive. It looks like they’re using yet another company name: SubscriberBASE, Inc. From this “company” they tanning towlettes, called TANTowel. Supposedly, you wipe the stuff on your skin and you get tanned. Amazing. If anyone’s tried this stuff and found it to work, let me know.

From Free Slide, I recieved the following:

Get the new Metallic Chrome KitchenAid Mixer Free!
Special Promotion - Get a Free Cannon PowerShot Digital Camera(a much cheaper camera than the Canon Rebel being offered before, eh?)

From the Product Test Panel / Consumer Research Corp:

Enjoy a Free Toshiba Satellite

To date we have the following companies at 3830 Forest Drive, Suite 207 Columbia, SC 29204:

Free Slide Premium Promotions
Product Test Panel.com
Consumer Research Corporation

Last week, I believe I found out where they’re going through for their sponsor offers (the 2-3 deals you have to sign up for to get the Free Camera, TV or Laptop computer, whatever it may be..). It appears that they didn’t program this themselves. There is an affiliate program with ads exactly like the ones the folks at 3830 Forest Drive are using. More details of this will follow, later.

Older Posts »

Powered by WordPress